Chapter 9: Revisiting Nightsteel City

 

POV: Mary

 

“Seriously, why do I have to go to Nightsteel city? Would it not work if I didn’t go?

After Fir got the information from the Kjell family, Bergis and I got on a train to Nightsteel City the next morning. Fortunately all the expenses are going to be reimbursed or I wouldn’t gave wanted to go.

I really want to take a break, find some place to get food and drink. Enjoying one’s life to the fullest is the best way of living

“Hold up~ I originally thought you were the more serious type. I didn’t think that you, just like Fir, were the type to pull out playing cards.”

The girl sitting across from me in Felicia’s shell was an early Dark Elf queen. I never would have believed you if you said she wasn’t hard to to deal with. After all, she instantly destroyed the guy that took over Fir’s body. She’s incredibly strong. I definitely wouldn’t want to fight an opponent like that. Having countless lives wouldn’t be enough to do it.

“Why do you get so serious? We’re almost at the city anyways. Let’s finish the mission right away.”

Speaking of which, they’re an unknown number of thousands of years older than me but can still maintain the appearance of a teenage girl. It’s really enviable.

Speaking of that……it looks like our appearance stopped changing once we came to this world., though I don’t know if it just hasn’t been long enough. It just like how your appearance in a game will never change. That’s good……

Ahh, really. I’ve already reached the point where I’m depressed about age. That really puts me in a bad mood……

“If you want I could teach you the technique to transfer your soul to another body.”

“Puu.”

I was taken aback by her words. Looking at her, I saw that she was looking at me with interest.

“Why you. You went as far as to read my mind……”

“It’s just because my senses are too strong. They let me sense fluctuations in your thoughts.”

“Hey, doesn’t that explain nothing?”

“Imagine if someone was talking next to you. You don’t want to listen to them but you accidentally overhear some of what they are saying.”

Ok, was that supposed to make sense.

“Wouldn’t that be inconvenient? Aren’t you going to hear a lot of things you don’t want to?”

“Well……”

She looked somewhat melancholy.

“Doesn’t everything have a price?”

“There is that.”

The train had begun to slowly slow down as we chatted.

From the magic sign outside the window, it appeared we had reached our destination.

“Let’s go. I hear it’s a highly city with highly industrialized magic. We might be able to find something good.”

“Industrialized magic……”

Bergis looked pleased.

“I had a plan like that, but the war began before it could be realized. If I could have industrialized for another 100 years then the Dark Elves would have definitely ruled the world.”

She spoke with her excitement showing on her face. Thankfully her voice wasn’t too loud. If someone heard it then they’d think she was a chunni.

“What do you mean by chunni? I remember Fir saying something similar.”

“……Think of it as having a rich imagination.”

“Really? But I always think it’s being used as an insult.”

“Well, it does have different meanings in different places. I’m just using the term. It’s up to you on how to interpret it.”

I could only smile bitterly as Bergis fell into thought.

Let’s focus on business now. If I continue to let her catch my thoughts and I’m almost definitely going to have to find ways to explain a lot of things. What a pain!

Following what Fir said, we walked down one of Nightsteel city’s streets to a back alley.

Looking at the stone wall in front of me and confirming that nobody was nearby, I pushed on the darkest brick.

Without any noise, a dark doorway appeared in the stone wall in front of me. I couldn’t see where it ended at all when I looked into it.

“Are we going to go in?”

Bergis asked.

“You know the answer already. I can’t believe that you can’t detect the real entrance.”

“Hee-hee.”

She stuck out her tongue. Walking over to a normal looking spot, like it was the back door of a house, and turned the handle.

The door wasn’t pushed open but rather slid to the side. The hole in the stone wall that had appeared a moment ago disappeared without a sound.

“Such a troublesome group. If you were deceived by the entrance over there then you’d probably die without leaving a body behind.”

Thought I don’t know what’s in there.

‘That’s right. You’ll be transferred over to another location. Though I don’t know where it is exactly, there is a familiar presence on the other side.”

“Really……”

How did Fir find this entrance? Or did he not come in through this entrance?

Eh, forget it.

“Let’s go before anyone comes.”

Saying that, I walked over to Bergis and entered the passage.

“Seriously, who designed this. It’s so dark that you could fall off the stairs if you didn’t pay attention.”

I complained walking down.

“Really? Then close your eyes for a moment.”

Bergis had just finished talking when she reached over and covered my eyes.

There was a green flash of light. When she removed her hands I could see clearly down the entire passage!

“This is……”

“Convenient isn’t it? Come and learn dark magic with me. It’s really worthwhile.”

“……”

Why do I feel like she’s an A*way saleswoman.

But there are a lot of benefits for me to learn dark magic.

“Let’s talk later……”

I had just said this when I finally spotted our target.

Thankfully I can see their names. For just an instant I saw a person in a black cloak with the name Beatrice · Chell above their head.

We really had to search high and low to find this place……

“Go, I’ve found the target.”

“Un un. It looks like it’ll be interesting~”

 

Previous chapter / Index /  Next chapter